Six Sentence Sunday – #10

I remembered! Though I hesitated over whether to title this one #9 or #10. 10 won out because I have posted ten excerpts. So here I am:

I even signed up early–number 90, right after my friend Eliza Knight. Go see her six, too, and other sixers here: Click!. Or take your tweeting fingers to #sixsunday.

So for me… I’m editing the WIP I call The Farm on my novel listings. It’s a completed draft, but my secondary characters needed some help with GMC to carry everyone into the sequel. Here’s the opening setting for this steampunk novel:

Tall, gold lettering proclaimed Shearing Enterprises’ business pledge across a painted signboard: The Latest in Agricultural Technology, backed by the Best Craftsmanship in Glenwood-on-Tyne.

“My word, I had no idea your visits to his business meant the industrial district. I don’t like it,” Polly muttered, but she allowed Annmar to pull her along.

“Neither do I, without Mrs. Rennet present,” Annmar admitted with a sigh.

In the canyon between the towering factory walls, the clink, clink, clink of various gear mechanisms echoed and steam billowing from the lines of open paned factory windows. Polly’s wide-eyed gaze fell from them to two workmen in grubby coveralls hoisting lengths of gray metal rods off a foundry delivery wagon blocking half the street.

Thanks for reading!

About Laurel Wanrow

Fantasy romance tuned to the magic of the land.

Posted on September 30, 2012, in Writing, YA Novels and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

