Happy New Year!

Just as I’m sure everyone else is doing, today I’m evaluating where I am in my writing career. And where I’d like to be.  We have so many opportunities these days and so many things to distract us. Insert internet for both of those. I’ve taken some great classes and joined a very helpful crit group, but I’m spending too much time reading rather than writing. I’m still in the sorting and prioritizing phase with my resolutions, but (nod to Oprah) this I know :

Order Debra Dixon’s Goal, Motivation and Conflict

Read the craft books I own

Review the remaining lessons of Warrior-Writer class

Select another continuing ed class

Refine list of agents to query

Participate in crit group

Take website class and polish website, esp home page.

And in actual writing …

Wildflowers and Winged Boys – Rewrite beginning to submit requested partial by mid-Jan. Apply new edit ideas from crit group

Passages – Finish the edits and submit to crit. Prepare query.

Conifer Curse – complete first draft

Courting the Pawn – apply new edit ideas from crit group

Contest efforts?

Enter my chapter contest – WRW’s Marlene.

Determine how much time and money to devote to other contests, verses querying.

To be continued … ( I have to get back to Passages’ chapter edits!)

About Laurel Wanrow

Fantasy romance tuned to the magic of the land.

Posted on January 1, 2010, in Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Laurel, thanks for stopping by my website earlier today and commenting. I enjoy meeting and connecting with authors.

    I like your goals for 2010, they are well defined. Good luck with them.

    Oh, and Goal, Conflict and Motivation is an excellent book.

    Like

  2. Best of luck to you in 2010, Laurel! I can’t wait to read more of your work and see more final contest placements for you in the coming year! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

